Facebook You tube Linked In

An enhanced Certification Program to recognize professional excellence

In 1982 - The Association developed it first certification program for qualifying members. This was the OBOA initial approach to establishing levels of competency in the administration of building regulation throughout Ontario.

For over 50 years the OBOA has played a leading role in the education, training and professional development of Ontario’s municipal Building Officials. The OBOA is committed to maintaining the highest degree of professionalism in the field of Building Code administration and building safety, while promoting uniform code interpretation and enforcement through training and education services, and other related committee work.

It is recognized that individuals entering the Building Official profession possess a wide range of education,training and work experience backgrounds. One of the strategic goalsof the OBOA’s Strategic Plan2012+ is to offer a professional certification program that provides assurance of a Building Official’s level of qualification. This priority is achieved through a Certification Program that supports accurate and consistent Building Code administration and enforcement throughout the province.The OBOA first recognized this priority with a certification program which began in 1983and was revised in 1992 to issue the first CBCO designation in December of that same year.

The Eight Streams - Certification Requirements

Continuing Professional Development Program (CPDP) - (Download CPDP)
Mandatory for all Certified Building Code Officials (CBCO).  This program will require 60 credits over 3 years but will provide more flexibility in terms of how credits can be earned.  They can be acquired through in-person classroom training or conferences as well as through independent learning. Certain non-technical and occupational skills training with also be given credits. The OBOA intends to implement the CPDP when the current maintenance cycle ends on January 1, 2017.

A checklist for CBCO/BCQ applicants has also been created to assist applicants in submitting complete applications and avoid unnecessary delays in certification approvals.

The new enhanced Certification Program continues to prescribe minimum levels of examination, education and experience to achieve designation. This program is an enhancement to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing (MMAH) qualification examination requirements, thereby signifying a level of competency above the legislated baseline. Upon completion of required training and municipal experience, a Government Member can apply to receive the professional designation Certified Building Code Official (CBCO). When a Government Member has completed the required training, yet lacks the requisite experience component, or an Associate Member has completed the required training, the professional designation Building Code Qualified (BCQ) is available. This Certification Program contains a number of streams related to the specialized sectors of the regulatory system in which a Building Official must be proficient and qualified.

The current CBCO and BCQ designations of current members that possess them will be maintained, however a member may now choose to hold certification in more than one stream. As in the past, the BCQ designation will have the same examination and education requirements as the CBCO designation without an experience component. Certification is a recognition and acknowledgement of the professionalism and expertise of our members which is readily recognized throughout the building industry. The OBOA believes that CBCO truly is "The Step Above."

In the Table Below, “Occupational Skills Training” means a soft,skill-based course related to job performance such as report writing, communication skills, conflict resolution, customer service, zoning administration, occupational health ''&' safety etc. *All 2006 Technical Skills Courses will be accepted in place of the current 2012 courses until Dec 31, 2016

Updating please return or see Application
Small Buildings
Updating please return or see Application
Fire Protection
Updating please return or see Application
Updating please return or see Application
Updating please return or see Application
On-Site Sewage
Updating please return or see Application
Large Buildings
Updating please return or see Application
Updating please return or see Application

FAQ’s related to the implementation of this program. Any further questions or clarifications should be directed through the OBOA office to Mike Leonard.

In conclusion, I believe that this enhanced Certification Program will serve to further the professionalism and aims of this Association and its Membership. Again, I thank each and every individual who has contributed to the end product through sharing their ideas and comments. The support has been appreciated.

Sincerely, Joyanne Beckett, CBCO, Director

Certification Chair Members are responsible for maintaining their Certification. To do this, they must: remain in good standing yearly by paying their annual dues no later than June 1st of each year, and acquire the necessary Maintenance Points as outlined on the Maintenance webpage. Members receiving Certification within any given Maintenance Cycle are not required to accumulate Maintenance Points for that cycle.
Should you still have further questions relating to your Certification, please contact the OBOA office or the Certification Committee Chair: Joyanne Beckett